AIRE logo

Fifth International Workshop on Artificial Intelligence for Requirements Engineering

@RE'18, Banff, Canada

RE18 logo


If you have any questions about AIRE'18 please contact us via

Organizing Committee

Eduard C. Groen, Fraunhofer IESE, Germany
Eddy is a researcher at the Department of User Experience and Requirements Engineering of the Fraunhofer Institute for Experimental Software Engineering (IESE) in Kaiserslautern, Germany. He holds a master's degree in Psychology with a specialization in Engineering Psychology from the University of Twente, the Netherlands. His research interests include the derivation of functional and non-functional requirements from natural language texts and the development of task-oriented development practices. Since 2015, he has published several works on CrowdRE at among others the RE, REFSQ and in IEEE Software. He co-organizes the CreaRE and CrowdRE workshop series. He is a program committee member for NLP4RE and FIRE and has reviewed for Information and Software Technology.
Rachel Harrison, Oxford Brookes University, UK
Rachel is professor of computer science at Oxford Brookes University, UK. Her research interests include software metrics, machine learning, and requirements engineering. Rachel is well known for her work on empirical and automated software engineering. She has over 160 publications and has consulted widely with industry, working with organizations such as IBM, Philips Research Labs, Praxis Critical Systems and The Open Group. Rachel has served on over 50 international program committees, including ICSE, Promise, ESEM and EASE, and was founder and PC Chair or Co-Chair of both the RAISE workshops at ICSE and the AIRE workshops at RE. She is Editor-in-Chief of the Software Quality Journal, published by Springer.
Pradeep K. Murukannaiah, Rochester Institute of Technology, US
Pradeep is an assistant professor in the Department of Software Engineering and an affiliated faculty of the Center for Cybersecurity at Rochester Institute of Technology. He received a PhD in Computer Science from North Carolina State University, where he also received the 2016 Outstanding Dissertation Award in Computer Science. The overarching theme of Pradeep's research is social computing - a research theme that cuts across software engineering, artificial intelligence, and human-computer interaction. Pradeep served as a co-chair for CrowdRE 2017 and SMASC 2017 workshops, and the 2016 Doctoral Symposium on Self-* (FAS*) Systems. In addition, he serves on program committees of prestigious conferences including AAMAS 2018, IJCAI 2018, ICDCS 2017, RE Data Track 2017, and RE@Next! 2018. Pradeep is the Information Director for ACM Transactions on Internet Technology (TOIT), and he regularly serves as a reviewer for IEEE TSC, ACM TOIT, ACM TIST, and IEEE Internet Computing.
Andreas Vogelsang, Technical University of Berlin, Germany, Program Co-Chair
Andreas Vogelsang is a professor for automotive software engineering at the Daimler Center for Automotive IT Innovations at the Technical University of Berlin (Germany). He received his PhD from the Technical University of Munich in 2015. His research interests comprise model-based requirements engineering and software architectures for embedded systems. He participated in several research collaborations with industrial partners especially from the automotive industry. He has published multiple papers at RE, REFSQ, and related workshops. He has reviewed for Science of omputer Programing, Journal of Systems Architecture, Data & Knowledge Engineering, and others.

Program Committee

Nirav Ajmeri, North Carolina State University, USA
Raian Ali, Bournemouth University, UK
Fatma Bas╠žak Aydemir, Utrecht University, NL
Nelly Bencomo, Aston University, UK
Daniel Berry, University of Waterloo, Canada
Jaspreet Bhatia, Carnegie Mellon University, USA
Jane Cleland-Huang, University of Notre Dame, USA
Fabiano Dalpiaz, Utrecht University, Netherlands
Neil A. Ernst, Software Engineering Institute, USA
Henning Femmer, Technical University Munich, Germany
Alessio Ferrari, ISTI Pisa, IT
Vincenzo Gervasi, University of Pisa, Italy
Jin Guo, University of Notre Dame, USA
Emitza Guzman, University of Zurich, Switzerland
Mahmood Hosseini, Bournemouth University, UK
Frank Houdek, Daimler AG, Germany
Marjo Kauppinen, Aalto University, Finland
Soo Ling Lim, University College London, UK
Daniel Mendez Fernandez, Technical University Munich, Germany
Itzel Morales Ramirez, Infotec, Mexico
Cristina Palomares, UPC, Spain
Anna Perini, Fondazione Bruno Kessler, Italy
Lorijn van Rooijen, University of Paderborn, Germany
Kurt Schneider, Leibniz Universitat Hannover, Germany

Steering Committee

The organizers are assisted by a steering committee that ensures the continuity of the workshop over the years. The steering committee consists of the six people who co-organized the workshop in previous editions:

Nelly Bencomo, Aston University, UK
Jane Cleland-Huang, University of Notre Dame, USA
Fabiano Dalpiaz, Utrecht University, Netherlands
Henning Femmer, Technical University Munich, Germany
Jin Guo, University of Notre Dame, USA
Rachel Harrison, Oxford Brookes University, UK.
Andreas Vogelsang, Technical University Berlin, Germany.